Jul 20, 2020
AARP Names New Board Leaders and Directors

WASHINGTONAARP today welcomed new leaders and directors to its Board of Directors, including the organization’s newest Board Chair, Annette Franqui, First Vice Chair, Martha M. Hayes, and Second Vice Chair, Lloyd E. Johnson. Margot James Copeland and Julio A. Portalatin will serve as new directors. All will serve in their capacities until June 2022.

The Board of Directors is the governing body of AARP, setting policy and providing strategic direction and governance oversight for AARP.

Annette Franqui (Board Chair) is a senior financial services executive with prior chief financial officer experience. She has played a key role overseeing AARP’s financial health through service on the board’s Audit and Finance Committee. A native of Puerto Rico, Franqui serves on the boards of several companies including Arcos Dorados, the largest operator of McDonald’s restaurants in Latin America and the Caribbean, and its largest franchisee. She brings personal caregiving experience to AARP, one of the organization’s top priorities.

As Board Chair, Franqui serves as the presiding official of the Board of Directors as it directs the affairs and funds of AARP. The Board Chair also serves as chair of the Governance and Compensation Committees. Franqui is the first Hispanic to chair the AARP Board of Directors.

Martha M. Hayes (First Vice Chair) is a senior executive focused on meeting the needs of consumers 50-plus through marketplace innovation and outstanding customer service. She has played a major role in the continuity and effectiveness of AARP’s Board, having served for four years as head of the Nominating Subcommittee, and previously as Board Chair of AARP Services, Inc. Hayes leads her consulting firm, Dally Consulting, and serves on the board of American Woodmark. During a 30-year tenure at Sara Lee Corporation, she was former senior Vice President of Customer Development, Chief Customer Officer, Senior Vice President of Business Development, and Executive Vice President of Personal Products.

As First Vice Chair, Hayes will preside in the absence of the Board Chair and lead initiatives as assigned by the Board, including leading the recruitment of new directors.

Lloyd E. Johnson (Second Vice Chair) recently concluded a four-year tenure as Board Chair of AARP Foundation, bringing expertise in business, finance, and addressing the needs of vulnerable older adults. With more than 35 years of experience in finance, information technology and cybersecurity, and enterprise risk management, Johnson is a former Managing Director and Chief Audit Executive with Accenture Corporation, and previously held senior finance leadership positions with multiple industry-leading Fortune 500 companies. Johnson serves on the boards of Apogee Enterprises as Audit Committee Chair and the National Association of Corporate Directors (NACD) Carolinas. He formerly served in leadership positions on the boards of Blumenthal Performing Arts and United Way of the Carolinas.

As Second Vice Chair, Johnson will chair the AARP Board’s Audit and Finance Committee.

Margot James Copeland (Director) serves on the Board of Trustees for the Cleveland Clinic as Vice Chair of Government & Community Relations, the board of the Cleveland Orchestra, and the board for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum. She recently concluded nine years at Kent State University as Board Secretary, Chair of Nominating and Governance, and Chair of Academic Excellence and Student Success. Copeland recently retired as Chair & Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the KeyBank Foundation, and also served as National President of The Links, Incorporated, an organization of African American women devoted to strengthening African American communities through education, advocacy, and volunteering.

As Director, Copeland’s responsibilities include approving AARP’s strategic plan, approving the budget, and monitoring AARP’s finances. She will also serve on the AARP Foundation Board

Julio A. Portalatin (Director) brings expertise in health care, financial security, older workers, and the future of work. He currently serves as Vice Chair of Marsh & McLennan Companies (MMC), a leading global professional services firm. Previously, Portalatin served as CEO of Mercer, an MMC company, and focused on redefining the world of work, reshaping retirement and investment outcomes, and unlocking real health and wellbeing. He serves on the boards of DXC Technologies, Covenant House International, and Hofstra University. As a past steward of the World Economic Forum, Portalatin’s insights have been featured in media outlets including The Economist, The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, CBS, and CNBC.

As Director, Portalatin’s responsibilities include approving AARP’s strategic plan, approving the budget, and monitoring AARP’s finances. He will also serve on the Board of AARP Services, Inc.

Robert Blancato, Joseph F. Coughlin, Beth Ellard, Jo Ann Jenkins, Neal Lane, and Libby Sartain will continue to serve as Board directors. Sartain will also chair the Board of AARP Foundation.

For more information about the AARP Board of Directors, visit http://www.aarp.org/about-aarp/board-of-directors.  


About AARP
AARP is the nation’s largest nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to empowering people 50 and older to choose how they live as they age. With a nationwide presence and nearly 38 million members, AARP strengthens communities and advocates for what matters most to families: health security, financial stability and personal fulfillment. AARP also produces the nation's largest circulation publications: AARP The Magazine and AARP Bulletin. To learn more, visit www.aarp.org or follow @AARP and @AARPadvocates on social media.

Media Contact: External Relations, media@aarp.org, 202-434-2560, @AARPMedia ​