Content starts here
Apr 18, 2017
AARP Announces AARP Purpose Prize™ Award Jurors; Five Winners Will Receive $50K Cash Awards; Nominations Now Open and Due May 12
Award Jurors Include Arianna Huffington, Holly Robinson Peete, Marlo Thomas; Leaders from Business, Academia, Philanthropy

WASHINGTON, DCAARP today announced the jurors for this year's AARP Purpose Prize™ award which recognizes people age 50 and over whose work is focused on advancing social good. This September AARP will award each of five Purpose Prize winners with $50,000 cash prizes.

Since its inception in 2005, more than 100 Purpose Prize winners have been recognized for their outstanding contributions and positive, social impact of their work. "This year, we are particularly interested in work being done in the areas of caregiving, savings, employment and the workplace, and livable communities, but, that said, we look forward to broad range of applications the Purpose Prize has always attracted," said AARP Vice President for Enterprise Award Strategy Barb Quaintance. "We are grateful to all of the AARP Purpose Prize jurors for helping us to judge what are sure to be some outstanding entries."

With Purpose Prize nominations due May 12, 2017 (nominations are now open and can be submitted online at AARP Purpose Prize jurors will review and judge applications, which are due May 19, this summer. Five outstanding winners will be selected and each will receive $50,000 at the AARP Purpose Prize awards gala in November.

The AARP Purpose Prize jurors include a spectacular group of leaders and thinkers cutting across sectors such as:

  • Sherry Lansing-CEO, Sherry Lansing Foundation and former Chairman and CEO of Paramount Pictures, as well as chair of the AARP Purpose Prize jury
  • Ashton Applewhite-  writer and activist
  • Karen Baker- Chief Service Officer, State of California
  • John Bridgeland- CEO, Civic Enterprises and former Director, White House Domestic Policy Council
  • Dr. Yanira Cruz- President and CEO, National Hispanic Council on Aging
  • Jennie Chin Hansen -former CEO, American Geriatrics Society
  • Daisy Expósito-Ulla- Chairman and CEO, d Expósito and  Partners  
  • Marc Freedman- CEO ,
  • Dr. Linda Fried- Dean of the Mailman School of Public Health at Columbia University
  • John Gomperts-  CEO, America's Promise
  • Dr. W. Wilson Goode, Sr.-  former Mayor of Philadelphia  and Director, the Amachi Program
  • Evan Hochberg - Chief Strategy Officer,  United Way
  • Arianna Huffington- founder, Thrive Global and The Huffington Post
  • Jamal Joseph - founder,  Impact Repertory Theatre
  • Gopi  Kallayil- Chief Evangelist of Brand Marketing, Google
  • Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot-  professor and sociologist , Harvard Graduate School of Education
  • Suzanne Braun Levine- author  
  • Eric Liu- CEO, Citizen University
  • Bonnie McElveen-Hunter- Chair,  American Red Cross
  • Michelle Nunn-  CEO, Care
  • Peter Osnos- founder, Public Affairs Books
  • Clarence Page-  journalist, Chicago Tribune
  • Holly Robinson Peete- actress and philanthropist,
  • Katherina Rosqueta- Executive Director, University of Pennsylvania Center for Philanthropy
  • Fred Ruiz-  founder, Ruiz Foods and Chairman Emeritus, College of the Sequoias
  • Dr. Kimon Sargeant- Vice President , Templeton Foundation
  • Kurt Schmoke- former Mayor of Baltimore and President,  University of Baltimore 
  • Tim Shriver-  Chairman, Special Olympics
  • Wendy Spencer- CEO, Leadership Florida
  • Marlo Thomas- actress and National Outreach Director,  St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
  • Linda Watt- former U.S. Ambassador to Panama
  • Angela Williams- Executive Vice President , YMCA of the USA
  • David Winston-  President, Winston Group
  • Harris Wofford- former U.S. Senator

The Purpose Prize is open to the public and there is no charge for entry. To apply for the AARP Purpose Prize, applicants must first be nominated by someone, or they may nominate themselves. Nominations are now open and may be submitted via Nominations are due by May 12, 2017. Once nominated, nominees may submit their applications anytime until May 19, 2017.

In addition to awarding $50,000 cash prizes to each of five winners, one of the five winners will be awarded the Andrus Award for Intergenerational Excellence, named for AARP's founder. For more information on the AARP Purpose Prize, please visit

# # #

About AARP
AARP is the nation's largest nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to empowering Americans 50 and older to choose how they live as they age. With nearly 38 million members and offices in every state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, AARP works to strengthen communities and advocate for what matters most to families with a focus on health security, financial stability and personal fulfillment. AARP also works for individuals in the marketplace by sparking new solutions and allowing carefully chosen, high-quality products and services to carry the AARP name.  As a trusted source for news and information, AARP produces the world's largest circulation publications, AARP The Magazine and AARP Bulletin. To learn more, visit or follow @AARP and @AARPadvocates on social media.



For further information: AARP Media, 202-434-2560,